Cooma Lions celebrate 60th

Pictured, President Lee Riley receives a leadership award from Lions District Governor Graham Matthews.

Last Saturday saw the Cooma Lions club celebrate its 60th anniversary with a lunch at Cooma Ex-Services Club.

More than 100 people attended the lunch to celebrate the club’s milestone.

District Governor Graham Matthews was present to induct new members Leanne Wiggins and Shane Marshall and present special awards.

Russell Fox was rewarded for 50 years in the Lions Club with a 50 Year Service Chevron, while John Britton was presented the Melvin Jones Fellowship Award for service.

John Neilson, Chris Reeks and Russell Fox were also made life members.

President Lee Riley was also presented with a leadership award by Governor Matthews.

The club’s charter night was held on February 13, 1960 and the Cooma town hall.

For the full story, purchase this week’s edition of the Monaro Post Newspaper in-store or subscribe to view online!